Is ElevenLabs Down?

Quickest ways to check the current status of elevenlabs.io plus recent known issues and working alternatives if it's out.

Last editorial review: 2026-10-15

How to check right now

Known issues we've tracked

INSTANT SOUNDTRACKS -- MUSIC PLUS TIMED SOUND EFFECTS FOR UPLOADED VIDEO (2026-10-15, vendor-primary): 'Generate a soundtrack and synchronized sound effects for any video you upload in ElevenCreative.' Upload a video and 'the model scores it with original music, then analyzes the footage for sound effect cues, and generates sound effects aligned to those timestamps' (ElevenLabs' example: 'a whoosh timed to the logo at the end of an ad'). Effects land as separate layers in the ElevenCreative Music Video Editor so they can be adjusted or swapped without regenerating; the score can shift mood across scenes and can use the video's existing audio (genre, crescendos, BPM, instrumentation) as a reference; timing is tuned for short-form cuts. **Availability:** 'available immediately' in ElevenCreative's music tab, Creative Engine for ads, ElevenMusic, and the **ElevenCreative Studio API** via new parameters add_sfx, separate_tracks (returns a ZIP of music and SFX stems) and use_audio_as_reference; **up to 10 videos per request, 200 MB and 10 minutes combined**. No separate price was stated -- generation draws on existing plan credits. Other ElevenLabs posts this window (SSML, deepfake detection, transcription and VAD explainers, a UK Parliament AI-voiced speech) are guides or customer stories, not product changes.
2026-10-15•ElevenLabs (elevenlabs.io/blog/introducing-instant-soundtracks, JSON-LD datePublished 2026-10-15; blog RSS pubDate Thu 15 Oct 2026) -- fetched 2026-10-15 via curl
ELEVENAGENTS ARCHITECT (ALPHA), SYNTHETIC VOICE DETECTION, BRAND KIT -- AND THE v4 3x-CREDIT PROMO ENDED 10/12 (2026-10-06 to 2026-10-12, vendor-primary): **(1) ElevenAgents Architect (10/06)** -- 'our new built-in expert that helps your team launch and improve agents, just by talking or typing'. It knows every ElevenAgents configuration option (knowledge base, prompts, workflows, voice settings, procedures, guardrails, tools, simulations), takes a signal such as a failing test, an escalation spike or a Spotlight finding, analyzes transcripts, proposes a change and writes simulations to validate it. Every change lands as a versioned draft that needs human approval; teams can set standards it must follow. Reachable inside ElevenAgents and from Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor and Grok Bot. **'Available now in Alpha'**; no price stated. **(2) Synthetic voice detection (10/09)** -- analyzes a caller's speech in the first few seconds and returns human or AI-generated, so rules can route machine callers to a scoped agent, queue them behind people, or block sensitive actions (bank-detail changes, password resets) requested by a synthetic voice. ElevenLabs notes all its own audio is watermarked but detection does not rely on a watermark. **Available today only to enterprise customers supported by its Forward Deployed Engineering team; a broader enterprise rollout 'later this month' as a configurable option.** ElevenLabs also joined the **Personal Agent Protocol** working group (led by Meta and Sierra) as a design partner. **(3) Brand Kit (10/09)** -- colours, fonts, logos with usage rules, reference images and brand rules stored once per workspace and tagged with @ in Image & Video, Flows and the ElevenCreative agent; multiple kits for agencies; voice and sound kits 'coming'. **(4) Promo end:** the site banner still read 'With 3x credits included on Creator+ until October 12' on 10/12, so the Eleven v4 launch credit promo recorded on this page has now run its course; standard credit costs apply from 10/13.
2026-10-09•ElevenLabs blog: elevenagents-architect (JSON-LD datePublished 2026-10-06; 'available now in Alpha'), synthetic-voice-detection-and-personal-agent-protocol and introducing-brand-kit (rss.xml pubDate Fri, 09 Oct 2026); site banner text on the Architect page -- all fetched 2026-10-12 via curl with browser UA
$22B VALUATION ON A $300M EMPLOYEE TENDER, ENTERPRISE AT 55% OF REVENUE, AND TWO DIFFERENT V4 CREDIT PROMOS ON THE SAME PRICING PAGE (2026-09-30 and 2026-10-02, vendor-primary): **Tender (9/30, updated 10/01):** 'We recently closed a $300 million employee tender offer that values ElevenLabs at $22 billion, double our valuation at our Series D in February', led by Wellington and T. Rowe Price with BDT & MSD participating. ElevenLabs says **enterprise is 'now accounting for 55% of our revenue'** as ElevenAgents adoption grows, and that its technology is in daily use at 'five of the world's ten largest tech companies, five of the ten largest insurers, and four of the ten largest telecoms'. No product or price change in the post; it leans on v4 and v4 Turbo 'already leading independent benchmarks'. **Promos observed on elevenlabs.io/pricing on 10/02 -- two of them, with different terms:** the site banner reads **'Introducing Eleven v4 ... With 3x credits included on Creator+ until October 12'**, while the pricing page body reads **'Try v4 with 2x credits for two weeks -- On Creator plans and above, up to 2x your monthly TTS credits used on v4 won't count against your balance. Available in the web and mobile apps only.'** Both are vendor copy on the same page; the multiplier (2x vs 3x) and the window (two weeks vs a fixed October 12 end) do not agree, so treat the banner's 3x-until-10/12 as the more specific claim and the 2x text as possibly stale. Either way the promo is **Creator and above, v4 only, web and mobile apps only (not the API)**, and v4 remains capped at 10,000 characters per request. Plan prices on the page were unchanged.
2026-10-02•ElevenLabs (elevenlabs.io/blog/tender-22bn, JSON-LD datePublished 2026-09-30, on-page 'Published Sep 30, 2026 / Last updated Oct 1, 2026') + elevenlabs.io/pricing (banner and 'Try v4 with 2x credits for two weeks' section) -- fetched 2026-10-02 via curl with browser UA
ELEVEN V4 AND ELEVEN V4 TURBO -- NEW ARCHITECTURE, #1 ON ARTIFICIAL ANALYSIS, ~100MS TURBO LATENCY, 90+ LANGUAGES, LIVE ACROSS AGENTS, CREATIVE AND THE API (2026-09-28, vendor-primary): 'Today we're launching Eleven v4, our most emotive text-to-speech model yet, and its low-latency variant, Eleven v4 Turbo.' Claims: 'Ranked #1 by Artificial Analysis' (footnote: Provider Voice Arena Leaderboard, Sept 2026) and 'preferred by ~75% of listeners in blind head-to-head tests over competing models' (footnote: against **Cartesia Sonic 3.6, Inworld TTS-2, Google Gemini 3.8 Flash-Lite TTS, and Google Gemini 3.8 Flash TTS**, September 2026 -- i.e. against the Google models launched five days earlier). 'Built on an entirely new architecture', v4 'was designed to interpret tone, pacing, emotion, character, and context'; multi-speaker dialogue where 'speakers respond to the context of the conversation'; inline tags such as [laughs], [said angrily in French accent], [light rain], [phone buzzing] are followed 'more accurately than prior models'; IPA phoneme support 'significantly improved'; voice cloning 'with significantly better speaker similarity'; request stitching for long-form 'significantly more reliable' in Studio and the Reader app. **Eleven v4 Turbo**: 'median inference latency of ~100ms' (docs; excluding application and network latency) and 'median time to first speech of ~150ms' over WebSocket streaming, 'built to work with ElevenLabs' conversational agents platform, ElevenAgents' -- research and engineering 'optimized Eleven v4 Turbo and ElevenAgents together as one system'. Both models support **more than 90 languages** (v3 was 70+). **Docs (elevenlabs.io/docs/models):** model IDs `eleven_v4` ('via the Text to Dialogue API', **10,000 character limit**, natural multi-speaker dialogue) and `eleven_v4_turbo` ('via the Text to Dialogue websocket'); `eleven_v3` is now 'our previous generation speech synthesis model'. **Availability:** 'Both models are available now in ElevenAgents, ElevenCreative, and via ElevenAPI'; a free account can generate with either. **Not stated:** any change to per-character or credit pricing for v4 vs v3, so the plan rows keep their character quotas; and the AA leaderboard rank is a dated snapshot (see miss #19 -- re-check before repeating it). Context: this lands the same month as Google's 3.8 TTS pair (9/23, with a published per-token rate card) and Gemini Notebook/Vids distribution, so the voice-model race is now explicitly head-to-head on both quality claims and price.
2026-09-28•ElevenLabs (elevenlabs.io/blog/eleven-v4, JSON-LD datePublished 2026-09-28T12:00:00Z; elevenlabs.io/docs/models -- Eleven v4 / v4 Turbo sections and model-ID table) -- fetched 2026-09-28 via curl with browser UA
ELEVENLABS AND UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP -- FIRST MAJOR-LABEL DEAL, A LICENSED FAN-REMIX PLATFORM IS COMING, AND IT PUTS ELEVENLABS IN DIRECT COMPETITION WITH SUNO v6 (2026-09-10, vendor-primary): ElevenLabs announced 'a **multi-year licensing agreement and strategic collaboration with Universal Music Group**', described as 'our first agreement with a major label, encompassing licensing and product development.' **What is actually being built:** 'a new AI-powered music creation platform built on licensed music and artist participation', now in development, letting fans 'co-create with music from participating artists and songwriters, including through **remixes and mashups, new track interpretations, and personalized vocal experiences**', plus jointly developed audio products for artists and songwriters. UMG's Lucian Grainge is quoted; CEO Mati Staniszewski frames it as artists and songwriters being 'fairly compensated'. **SCOPE, PER ELEVENLABS:** the new platform 'will be distinct and offered separately from our existing music products' -- the **Music API** and **ElevenMusic** are unaffected and remain the current offering. **No launch date, no pricing, no artist roster named.** **WHY IT MATTERS:** on 9/09 Suno launched v6 with Warner, BMG and Believe and promised opt-in artist experiences; a day later UMG -- the label suing Suno -- picked ElevenLabs as its licensed-AI partner. The licensed-fan-remix category now has two label-backed entrants a day apart, and UMG is on the ElevenLabs side of it. ElevenLabs has not disclosed whether the UMG catalogue will be used to train new models or only to license outputs; the post says 'built on licensed music', which is a product statement, not a training-data one.
2026-09-10•ElevenLabs (elevenlabs.io/blog/umg, JSON-LD datePublished 2026-09-10) -- fetched 2026-09-14 via curl
STALENESS CATCH-UP, JUNE-AUGUST 2026 (this page was last reviewed 2026-07-18; everything below is from ElevenLabs' own blog, dated by JSON-LD, and none of it was on the page): **ElevenLabs CLI v1 (2026-08-24)** -- 'brings the ElevenLabs API directly into your terminal', designed 'agents first' with structured JSON output, a `--dry-run` mode, and **agents-as-code for ElevenAgents**: pull every agent in a workspace into local config files, diff, and push to production by hand or from a coding agent. Every endpoint in the OpenAPI spec is a subcommand. Install via Homebrew (`elevenlabs/tap/elevenlabs`), Scoop, or a curl installer. **Procedures in ElevenAgents (2026-06-30)**, **Ads Engine in ElevenCreative (2026-06-22)** -- localise ads across 50+ languages, **Flows Agent in ElevenCreative (2026-06-04)**, plus the previously recorded Music v2 and Dubbing v2 (May). **Corporate:** **$500M ARR** crossed with new investors (2026-05-05); **$22M earned by voice creators**, doubling in six months (2026-05-22); expansions in Canada (7/07), California (173 jobs, 6/22), Australia/NZ, plus Poland and UK government partnerships (June); a new **CRO (Ashley Kramer, 9/02)** and **CFO (Ethan Tandowsky, 9/08)** -- both ex-executive hires that usually precede an IPO-readiness push, though ElevenLabs has said nothing about listing. **No pricing changes and no model deprecations found in the window** -- the models page state recorded 7/18 (scribe_v1 deprecated, v1 TTS removed) stands.
2026-08-24•ElevenLabs blog (elevenlabs.io/blog/elevenlabs-cli-v1 datePublished 2026-08-24; /procedures 2026-06-30; /introducing-ads-engine-in-elevencreative 2026-06-22; /introducing-flows-agent 2026-06-04; /500m-arr-and-new-investors 2026-05-05; /22-million-earned-by-voice-creators-on-elevenlabs 2026-05-22; /canada 2026-07-07; /expanding-in-california 2026-06-22; /cro 2026-09-02; /cfo 2026-09-08) -- all fetched 2026-09-14 via curl

Issues here are sourced from our editorial sweeps, not real-time telemetry. Newer issues may exist.

What to use if ElevenLabs is down

Top AIToolTier-ranked alternatives in the same category, ordered by our overall score.

A

GPT-Live (ChatGPT Voice)

8.6

**GPT-Live-1.1 and a smaller GPT-Live-1.1 Quip began rolling out in ChatGPT Voice on 2026-10-15, with more natural accents, shorter spoken cues while it searches, and new voices for French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Korean and Mexican Spanish plus an English voice called Bubbie.** OpenAI's full-duplex voice models (launched in ChatGPT 2026-07-08) -- listens and speaks at the same time, backchannels naturally, and delegates hard questions to a backend model while keeping the conversation going. **GPT-Live-1 reached the API on 2026-09-10 at $0.05 per minute** for the voice layer, with telephony support, keyword biasing, delegation to any backend model (GPT-6 Astra, Luna, or a third-party model) and a wider voice set. In ChatGPT: GPT-Live-1 for paid tiers, GPT-Live-1 mini for Free. **Five days after the API launch, Google priced Gemini 3.8 Live at $0.005/min audio in and $0.018/min audio out (2026-09-15)** -- a fraction of GPT-Live-1's $0.05/min voice layer, though each stack bills backend or text tokens on top

A

Descript

8.5

Edit audio and video by editing text -- the 'Google Docs of media editing' actually lives up to the hype

A

Grok Speech (STT + TTS APIs)

8.1

**Grok Voice 3.0, xAI's new speech-to-speech model, shipped 2026-10-14 at the same $0.08 per minute as 2.0, which xAI's rate card now flags as on its way out; grok-voice-latest switched over automatically, and xAI cites a #1 score of 86.9 on Artificial Analysis' Speech-to-Speech Index.** xAI's standalone voice APIs. **Grok Voice Transcribe 2.0 shipped 2026-09-18** -- xAI calls it twice as accurate as 1.0 at the same $0.10/hr batch and $0.20/hr streaming, ranks it first for accuracy among 32 streaming models on Artificial Analysis, and has already made it the default STT model; **1.0 is being retired in the coming weeks, so pin grok-voice-transcribe-1.0 if you need it**. **PRICE CORRECTION: text-to-speech is $15.00 per 1M characters on xAI's live rate card (verified 2026-09-21), not the $4.20 this page carried since April.** Speech-to-speech agent $0.08/min, 26 flagship voices, ~1-minute voice cloning, no-code Voice Agent Builder

A

Cohere Transcribe

8.0

Cohere's first audio model -- launched 2026-03-26 under Apache 2.0, 2B parameters, #1 on Hugging Face Open ASR Leaderboard (5.42 avg WER), 14 enterprise-critical languages. Free API with rate limits; Model Vault for production

B

Microsoft MAI-Voice-2

7.3

Microsoft's in-house expressive TTS line. **MAI-Voice-2.1 and MAI-Voice-2.1-Flash launched 2026-10-01: 23 languages and 26 locales with one voice that keeps the same speaker and a native accent across languages, voice cloning from a few seconds of reference audio with consent guardrails, priced at $22 per 1M characters for 2.1 and $15 per 1M characters for Flash, which generates 45 seconds of audio at 150 ms end-to-end latency and is pitched at voice agents alongside MAI-Transcribe-2-Streaming.** These supersede **MAI-Voice-2 (Build, 2026-06-02)**: 15 languages, emotion tags, zero-shot cloning from a 5-60 s clip, preferred over MAI-Voice-1 72% of the time. Microsoft also shipped a MAI-Voice-2-Flash and MAI-Image-2.5-Pro in July that this page had not recorded -- see the Oct 2 note.

About ElevenLabs

Tier A (8.5/10). **Instant Soundtracks (2026-10-15) scores any uploaded video with original music and timed sound effects in ElevenCreative, ElevenMusic and the API, with effects on separate layers and the option to use the clip's existing audio as a style reference.** **ElevenAgents gained two new tools in the week of 2026-10-06: Architect (alpha, 10/06), a built-in expert that diagnoses agent failures from transcripts and drafts tested fixes, and synthetic voice detection (10/09), which flags AI callers in the first seconds of a call -- enterprise-only for now. ElevenCreative added Brand Kit (10/09).** **Two days after the v4 launch, ElevenLabs closed a $300M employee tender at a $22B valuation (2026-09-30), double its February Series D, with enterprise now 55% of revenue -- and the pricing page is running v4 launch promos (extra v4 credits on Creator plans and above, see the Oct 2 note).** **Eleven v4 and Eleven v4 Turbo launched 2026-09-28 -- a fourth-generation voice model on an entirely new architecture**, ranked #1 on Artificial Analysis' Provider Voice Arena and preferred by ~75% of listeners in blind head-to-head tests against Cartesia Sonic 3.6, Inworld TTS-2 and Google's Gemini 3.8 Flash and Flash-Lite TTS; v4 Turbo answers with a ~100ms median inference latency (~150ms to first speech over WebSocket) and is co-optimized with ElevenAgents. Both cover 90+ languages, follow inline audio tags like [laughs] or [phone buzzing] more accurately, clone voices with better speaker similarity, and are live now in ElevenAgents, ElevenCreative and the API (Text to Dialogue). Eleven v3 becomes the previous generation. The 2026-09-10 Universal Music Group licensing deal and CLI v1 (8/24) still stand.